Wild Boar Awards

Wild Boar Awards were created in 2013 and presented to adults – teachers, parents, advisors, event coordinators/staff and more – who help SGW reach our goal of teaching kids how to be environmentally aware. Nearly 50 Wild Boar Awards have been presented as of this year!

Cool Wild Boars Albert, Michael & Alison Cropped

Wild Boars: Our nickname and logo were inspired by the strong-willed, brave and fun-loving characters in Meet Wild Boars and Wild Boars Cook, by Meg Rosoff and Sophie Blackall.

Wild Boars Cook 250

We later learned about the Hindu myth of Vishnu who changed himself into a wild boar to save the Earth from a demon! Read the story of Vishnu here

Wild Boar Hindu Avatar

2018 Awards:

    • Becka Smilley and Anne Carey, Peirce Green Team Facilitators
    • Becka Smilly and Anne Carey

    • Andy Gluck, Underwood, Special Ed Teacher’s Aide and Green Team Leader
    • Andy Gluck

    • Eric Olson, Newton North Nicaragua Eco-Trip Advisor
    • Andy Gluck

    • Maureen Connell, Newton Farmers Market Assistant Manager
    • Andy Gluck

    • Marcia Cooper, Green Newton President
    • Andy Gluck

2017 Awards:

      • Tom Ashley, Dancing Bear Farm , Newton Farmers Market
      • Will Chamberland and Ellen Weiss, Bowen After School Care Program
      • Stephanie Pavao and Molly Widrick, Newton South HS UNESCO Team Advisors
      • Sally Rosen, Newton South HS Science Teacher
      • Adam Peloquin, Newton North HS,  Greengineeers Advisor
      • Miles Smith and Tom Boyd, Sound and Video, Green Newton

2016 Awards:

      • Stefanie Kane and Lyla Yee, Junior Girl Scout Troop 73452 Leaders
      • Jean Holmblad and Catherine Wilson, Newton Free Library
      • Henry Toulmin, Brown Middle School, New Garden Project Advisor
      • Jonathan Orren, Newton South HS,  Farm Club Advisor
      • Ann Dannenberg, Newton North HS,  Envirothon Team Coach
      • Jon-Paul Conopka, Newton North HS Graphic Communications

2015 Awards:

      • Jane Malmberg, Supervisor and Deena Zuckerman, Asst. Supervisor, Newton Free Library Children’s Department
      • Dirk Detlefsen and Mary Ann Garrity, 5th Grade Teachers, Countryside Elementary School
      • Kathryn Teissier and Jennifer Szczebak, Green Club Coordinators, F. A. Day Middle School
      • Sue Bottino, Cabot Elementary PTO and Green Newton Schools Outreach Committee
      • Mindy Sieber, Sunwoo Kahng, Jack Cheng and Christopher Uryga, Green Newton Communications Committee

2014 Awards:

      • Rachael Simkins-Makela, Art Teacher at Zervas Elementary School
      • Eric Bobby – Schools Outreach Committee Chair/Green Newton
      • Judy Dore – Newton Farmers Market Manager, Newton Parks & Recreation

2013 Awards:

    • Diane Jaquith, Art Teacher at Burr and Franklin Elementary Schools
    • Elise Blanken & Hope Rathnam, Solomon Schechter Day School Extended Day
    • Stephen Chinosi – Newton North High School English Dept. & Chief Innovation Officer for Greengineers(GNRG)
    • Ellen Meyers – Director of Programs & Communications, Newton Free Library